About Us

Font + - Bookmark and Share

History

13 August 2014





Water is a national wealth which protection and development and investment should be the core of public interest within the principles of preserving the environment and natural balances and the right of every individual to take advantage of the same in accordance with the provisions of the enforceable laws. 
Therefore there is a need to organize the management of this sector to get optimum performance at least cost. 

 First Section: historical evolution of water management before and after independence: 

Before Independence: 

Before the creation of the Lebanese state in 1920, the consumers used to manage and benefit from water according to the customs and norms in the cities and villages. The citizens approved to respect a number of traditions with regard to allowing the use of water in a balanced and fair manner to avoid permanent conflicts, however, in the second of the nineteenth century, the situation has begun to change after the two following incidents: 

First incident: is related to the issuance of the order of the Ottoman Sultan spent to drag  water from the Naher El Kalb river for the distribution of drinking water in Beirut. This first franchise in the water sector opened the way until the mid-twentieth century to a series of franchises to meet the growing needs of the citizens, within a general administrative structure for the management of the water sector.
 
This franchise is important considering that upon the start of the implementation of the works there were legal conflicts between the owners of the franchise on one hand and the citizens and owners on the other hand, because the latter alleged their acquired rights on the water since a long time ago, and demanded to reconsider the franchise excellence. 

Following long negotiations, an agreement was signed between the conflicting parties ,and  is still valid until now between the Water Authority of Beirut as the heir of the franchise and the heirs of the owners of properties, and for the first time without any doubt the acquired rights on water became  officially recognized by the public authorities. 

The other incident: having the same importance is the enactment of the law magazine for judicial rulings since 1875 known under the gazette of which some chapters are still enforceable. This law has organized various sector of activities amongst which the water sector with the recognition of acquired rights on the water and its use. 

This legal situation remained unchanged throughout the period of the following fifty years, and  the conditions of water consumers and users remained covered by the customs and traditions, and franchises and the provisions of the gazette in effect. 

As from 1920, a new legal phase began  in Lebanon as the decision number  144 related to public domain was issued  on June 10, 1925 and the decision number 320 dated May 26, 1926, on the protection of the public water and its use was enacted. 
These texts, which are still enforceable remained unchanged  since that date and constitute the main legislative pillar from the Water Act in Lebanon. 

  After Independence: 
With the development of the situation, it was confirmed that there is a need to organize a new administrative system for the water sector, therefore the Water Authority of Beirut was established in 1951 and followed during subsequent years by a series of public authorities  in several areas of the economic activity, particularly with respect to the distribution of drinking water and then on 29 March 1966 the Ministry of power and water resources  was established by virtue of the law No. 20/66, which stipulated that the water projects and their implementation are its most important missions .
 
It is worth saying that during the sixties and early seventies This system secured drinking water for the majority of consumers, than the war erupted in 1975 with all its consequences until 1990, prevented the continuation of the development of water projects, in addition to the obligation of the state to secure aid and advances to the treasury as needed from the water authorities in order to sustain their activities.
 
Section II: a modern glimpse on the missions and  structure  of the ministry and public institutions under its guardianship: 

First, the current situation: 
Before treating the reasons requiring this amendment one should look at the current law on  the establishment of the Ministry of power and Water Resources i.e. the law  No. 20/66 Dated march 29th 1966, as amended and to  shed some light on the reality of public institutions affiliated to this ministry and how the merger of five  water authorities constitutes a significant step regarding the amendment in question. 

The current situation of the functions and structure of the ministry: 
the Ministry of power and water Resources was established by virtue of the law No. 20/66 on  29/03/1966 and was organized by virtue of the decree number  5469 Date September 7th 1966 and its establishment law was amended by virtue of the following provisions: 
- Enforceable law by virtue of the decree number  3044 Date 25/03/1972. 
- Enforceable law by virtue of the decree number 6650 Date 6/12/1973. 
- Law No. 430 Date 15/5/1995. 
- Decree No. 5343 dated 06.07.1994, on determining the personal and the missions of the authority functions of environment rehabilitation . 

With referral to these texts it appears that the goals and functions and structure of the ministry are as follows. 
The goals: 
- expending  water projects, implementation and supervision of their execution and exploitation . 
- The application of laws and regulations relating to the conservation and use of public water and discharge of wastewater and run of water. 
- The exercise of administrative tutelage on independent authorities public institutions and bodies that operate in the fields of water and power. 
- Exercise the power of control on the franchises of water, electricity and cable car. 
- The application of laws and regulations relating to mines and quarries. 

The functions and structure

The ministry is composed of the following two public administrations: 
- Directorate General for water and power equipment. 
- General Directorate of Investment. 

The missions of each were defined in the decree 5469 abovementioned in a manner consistent with the objectives mentioned above: 

A brief overview on  the reality of public institutions under guardianship: 
the public institutions working in the field of water have and are still suffering from difficulties which need to be discussed and reviewed the discretionary authority are not managed in majority by  boards of directors duly but committees charged with the functions of the Board of Directors, and others vested to the Minister of guardianship and the executive power is still without personal or many of its functions are vacant or prescribed and anyhow reflect deficits in administrative and financial and technical capacities making it unable to perform the required missions. Its financial conditions are bad and they are hardly meeting their expenditures . 

Perhaps this exacerbating situation is due to the lack of application of the law of merging the water authorities promulgated by Decree No. 3275 of 24/5/1972, which stipulated the need to have a water authority in each of the five  governorates in  Lebanon. 

Second: The new vision of  each  functions and structures of the ministry and public institutions under its control: 

With the end of the war, and the beginning of the year 1991 the need to reconsider the administrative structure emerged  due to the requirements of development and to prevent the entanglement of powers and insure to meet the needs of the citizens rapidly in various fields such as drinking water irrigation and industrial water .
 
For this purpose, the Council of Ministers has already taken a decision  No. 8 of 07.3.1994 and subsequent resolutions, including Resolution No. 1 Date 20/6/1994, which  commissioned the Ministry of administrative reform to reconsider the structures of public administrations to make them more keeping up and following the movement of evolution and response to the needs of public facilities they handle, therefore a team from the  mentioned ministry in cooperation with the staff of the Ministry of water Resources and power undertook this task which was the bases for a new vision of the objectives, functions and powers and structures of the units constituting the Ministry of Water Resources and power or bodies associated to it . 

Therefore this perception brought novelties on two main levels
First : 
Sharing or distribution of work between the Ministry of Water Resources, and power and public institutions associated with it so that the role of the ministry is limited to the supervision and putting the public policy in solving the water and electricity issues and to carry out the implementation of major projects save that the said institutions which have turned into investment institutions of water take into account the remaining affairs at every level ( report , implementation, maintenance ...) 
Second : 
Reconsider the structure of the ministry and investment institutions of water affiliated to it  in order to make the same appropriate to achieve the goals and the role entrusted to them. The new vision of the functions of the investment authorities
Perhaps the most important features of the new vision for the work and the activity of the newly established institutions are the following: 
- Convert them into water investment institutions by strengthening the independence of these institutions and make them able to manage their affairs in accordance with the methodology adopted in the private sector as they are investment institutions of commercial nature. 
- Took over the planning of local programs and projects and design and implementation in accordance with the plans and strategies developed by the ministry. 
- The construction and operation of facilities. 

Propose tariffs and enforce them after the approval of the evaluation committee for water  institutions management, composed of the representatives from each of the Ministry of Finance and the Ministry of guardianship and the private sector.
 
Because the conviction that the idea of merging the authorities and projects and committees of irrigation water (the number has increased to two hundred Commissions) into five authorities became a necessity , this merger shall be characterized by the following: 

- Expansion of activities as in addition to the drinking water they will be administrating the  irrigation water. 
- Strengthening their powers as they are now studying implementing , managing and operating and maintaining the same , and there was a focus on the economic feasibility of the projects undertaken by these authorities , which is something not currently adopted . The authorities and committees within the scope of investment interest of each were merged. They also suppose the presence of a structure enhanced with competencies: administratively and financially and technically.
 
Thus it is clear that the merger will enhance public facilities undertaken by these institutions and will replace the dependence on the central administration and will make them in addition to shortening the number of executive and decision bodies  enjoy the advantages of major institutions which are supposed to be more capable and efficient in the performance of their functions and prevent them from wasting their expenditures and briefly give an opportunity to these investment institutions  to put into practice their administrative and financial independence  and prove their independent legal entity competent and efficient, and this is  reinforced without any doubt by developing their own regulations  which will replace the decree 4517 so that these institutions shall be granted the  freedom and independence enabling them to manage with the necessary flexibility and the ease prior controls  to the extreme while strengthening the delayed control  based on performance indicators, and the ministry is working on the preparation of this by issuing the draft texts needed in this area. 
So Based on the above mentioned, 
The draft law was prepared and transferred to your estimated board with the hope of approving it 


All rights reserved ©      About Us  |  Contact Us
Check your bills and pay online


New member? Click here to   Register

من نحن

الخط + - Bookmark and Share

لمحة تارخية

13 آب 2014




تشكل المياه ثروة وطنية تعتبر حمايتها وتنميتها واستثمارها من صلب المصلحة العامة وذلك ضمن أصول المحافظة على البيئة والتوازنات الطبيعية وحق كل فرد بالاستفادة منها وفق الاحكام النافذة.
من هنا ضرورة تنظيم ادارة هذا ا قطاع للحصول على الاداء الأمثل بالكلفة الأقل.
القسم الاول: التطور التاريخي لادارة المياه قبل الاستقلال وبعده:
1 - قبل الاستقلال:
قبل قيام الدولة اللبنانية في سنة 1920، كانت ادارة المياه واستعمالها من قبل المستهلكين، يجريان على أساس العادات والاعراف في المدن والقرى، وقد توافق المواطنون على احترام عدد من التقاليد فيما يتعلق بالسماح باستعمال المياه بصورة متوازنة وعادلة، لتجنب النزاعات الدائمة، ولكن، وفي النصف الثاني للقرن التاسع عشر، كانت الأوضاع قد بدأت تتغير على أثر الواقعتين التاليتين:
الواقعة الأولى: تعود الى صدور "فرمان" من السلطان العثماني قضى بجر مياه نهر الكلب لتوزيع مياه الشفة في بيروت. ان هذا الامتياز الأول في قطاع المياه أفسح المجال حتى أواسط القرن العشرين، لسلسلة من الامتيازات لتلبية الحاجات المتزايدة للمواطنين، ضمن الهيكلية الادارية العامة لادارة قطاع المياه 
اما أهمية هذا الامتياز فتعود الى انه عند بدء تنفيذ الاشغال، وقعت نزاعات قانونية بين اصحاب الامتياز من جهة، والأهالي والمالكين من جهة اخرى، بحيث تذرع هؤلاء بحقوق مكتسبة على المياه منذ زمن بعيد، ثم طالبوا باعادة النظر بالامتياز.
وعلى اثر مفاوضات طويلة وقع اتفاق بين الاطراف المتنازعة، لا يزال ساري المفعول حتى الآن بين مصلحة مياه بيروت بصفتها وريثة الامتياز وورثة أصحاب الاملاك، ولأول مرة بدون شك أصبحت الحقوق المكتسبة على المياه أمرا معترفا به رسميا من قبل السلطات العامة.
الواقعة الأخرى: يرتدي الأهمية ذاتها اصدار قانون مجلة الأحكام العدلية ابتداء من عام 1875 والمعروف باسم "المجلة" والذي ما تزال بعض فصوله مرعية الاجراء حتى الآن. وقد نظم هذا القانون مختلف قطاع ت العمل قطاع المياه مع اعتراف بالحقوق المكتسبة على المياه ووسائل استعمالها.
بقي الوضع القانوني هذا على حاله طيلة فترة الخمسين سنة اللاحقة، وبقيت ايضا اوضاع مستهلكي المياه ومستعمليها مشمولة بالعادات والتقاليد والامتيازات واحكام المجلة المرعية الاجراء.
وابتداء من عام 1920، بدأت مرحلة قانونية جديدة في لبنان حيث صدر القرار 144 بتاريخ 10 حزيران 1925 المتعلق بالملك العام، والقرار 320 بتاريخ 26 ايار 1926، المتعلق بحماية المياه العامة واستعمالها.
هذه النصوص التي لا تزال قيد الاجراء بقيت على ما هي عليه منذ ذلك التاريخ وتشكل العصب الاساسي التشريعي لقانون المياه في لبنان.
2 - بعد الاستقلال:
ومع تطور الأوضاع، تأكد انه لا بد من تنظيم اداري جديد قطاع المياه حيث انشئت مصلحة مياه بيروت عام 1951 تبعتها خلال السنوات اللاحقة سلسلة من المؤسسات العامة في مجالات عدة من النشاط الاقتصادي، وخاصة فيما يتعلق بتوزيع مياه الشفة ثم أنشئت بتاريخ 29 آذار 1966 وزارة الموارد المائية والكهربائية بموجب القانون رقم 20/66 الذي نص على ان تعميم المشاريع المائية وتنفيذها من ابرز مهامها.
ومما يجدر قوله انه في خلال فترة الستينات، وفي أوائل السبعينات نجح هذا النظام في تأمين مياه الشفة لأكثرية المستهلكين، غير ان الحرب التي اندلعت عام 1975 وما رافقها حتى عام 1990، منعت استمرار تطور المشاريع المائية، اضافة الى الموجب الذي ألقي على عاتق الدولة لجهة تأمين المساعدات وسلفات الخزينة اللازمة لمصالح المياه من أجل استمرارها في مهامها.
القسم الثاني: نظرة حديثة لمهام الوزارة وهيكليتها والمؤسسات العامة الخاضعة لوصايتها:
أولا: الواقع الحالي:
والخوض في الاسباب الموجبة لهذا التعديل يستدعي القاء نظرة على القانون الحالي لانشاء وزارة الموارد المائية والكهربائية أي القانون رقم 20/66 تاريخ 29/3/1966 وتعديلاته كما يستلزم تسليط بعض الضوء على واقع المؤسسات العامة التابعة لهذه الوزارة وكيف يعتبر دمج مصالح المياه في خمس مصالح، خطوة بارزة على طريق التعديل المطروح.
1 - الواقع الحالي لمهام وهيكلية الوزارة:
أنشئت وزارة الموارد المائية والكهربائية بموجب القانون رقم 20/66 تاريخ 29/3/1966 وقد نظمت هذه الوزارة بموجب المرسوم 5469 تاريخ 7/9/1966 ثم عدل قانون انشائها بموجب النصوص التالية:
- القانون الموضوع موضع التنفيذ بالمرسوم رقم 3044 تاريخ 25/3/1972.
- القانون الموضوع موضع التنفيذ بالمرسوم رقم 6650 تاريخ 6/12/1973.
- القانون رقم 430 تاريخ 15/5/1995. 
- المرسوم رقم 5343 الصادر بتاريخ 6/7/1994 المتعلق بتحديد ملاك ومهام مصلحة تصحيح المحيط.
وبالعودة لهذه النصوص يتبين ان اهداف الوزارة ومهامها وهيكليتها هي على الشكل التالي.
أهدافها:
- تعميم المشاريع المائية وتنفيذها والاشراف على تنفيذها واستثمارها.
- تطبيق القوانين والانظمة المتعلقة بالمحافظة على المياه العمومية واستعمالها وتصريف المياه المبتذلة ومياه السيلان.
- ممارسة الوصاية الادارية على المصالح المستقلة والمؤسسات العامة والهيئات التي تعمل في حقلي المياه والكهرباء.
- ممارسة سلطة الرقابة على امتيازات المياه والكهرباء والتلفريك.
- تطبيق القوانين والأنظمة المتعلقة بالمناجم والمقالع.
المهام والهيكلية:
تتألف الوزارة من المديريتين العامتين التاليتين:
- المديرية العامة للتجهيز المائي والكهربائي.
- المديرية العامة للاستثمار.
وقد حددت مهام كل منهما في المرسوم 5469 الآنف الذكر بشكل يتوافق مع الأهداف المذكورة اعلاه:
2 - لمحة موجزة عن واقع المؤسسات العامة الخاضعة للوصاية:
اما المؤسسات العامة العاملة في حقل المياه فالكثير منها كان وما يزال، يعاني أوضاعا صعبة تحتاج الى تصويب واعادة نظر، فالسلطة التقديرية لا يدير أكثرها مجالس ادارة وفقا للأصول، بل لجان مكلفة بمهام مجلس ادارة، والبعض الآخر يتولاها وزير الوصاية والسلطة التنفيذية لا تزال دون ملاك أو أن أكثر وظائفها شاغرة أو تقادم عليه الزمن، وهي في كل حال تشف عن عجز في القدرات الادارية والمالية والفنية تجعلها غير قادرة على القيام بالمهام المطلوبة اليها. اما أوضاعها المادية فمتردية تكاد لا تفي بنفقاتها الضرورية.
ولعل تفاقم هذه الأوضاع المشكو منها مرده البعض منها الى عدم تطبيق قانون دمج مصالح المياه الصادر بالمرسوم رقم 3275 تاريخ 24/5/1972، وهو الذي لحظ مصلحة في كل محافظة من محافظات لبنان الخمس آنذاك.
ثانيا: التصور الجديد لكل من مهام وهيكليات الوزارة والمؤسسات العامة الخاضعة لها:
ومع انتهاء الحرب، وابتداء من سنة 1991 برزت ضرورة اعادة النظر بالهيكلية الادارية نظرا لمقتضيات التطور ومنعا لتشابك الصلاحيات وتأمينا لتلبية سريعة لحاجات المواطنين في مختلف المجالات من شفة وري وصناعة.
ومن اجل ذلك، سبق لمجلس الوزراء أن اتخذ قرارا رقم 8 تاريخ 7/3/1994 وقرارات لاحقة بينها القرار رقم 1 تاريخ 20/6/1994، الذي قضى بتكليف وزارة الاصلاح الاداري اعادة النظر في هيكليات الادارات العامة لجعلها أكثر مجاراة ومتابعة لحركة التطور واكثر تلبية للمرافق العامة التي تتولاها، لذلك قام فريق من الوزارة المذكورة وبالتعاون مع موظفي وزارة الموارد المائية والكهربائية بالاضطلاع بهذه المهمة وكانت منطلقا لوضع تصور جديد لأهداف ومهام وصلاحيات وهيكليات الوحدات التي تتشكل منها وزارة الموارد المائية والكهربائية أو الهيئات المرتبطة بها.
لذا جاء هذا التصور يحمل جديدا بارزا على صعيدين مركزيين:
الأول:
تقاسم أو توزيع العمل بين وزارة الموارد المائية والكهربائية والمؤسسات العامة المرتبطة بها بحيث يقتصر دور الوزارة على الاشراف ورسم السياسة العامة في حل المياه والكهرباء والاضطلاع بتنفيذ المشاريع الكبرى على ان تتكفل المؤسسات المذكورة التي حولت الى مؤسسات استثمارية للمياه بتدبير باقي الشؤون على كل صعيد (تقرير، تنفيذ، صيانة...)
الثاني:
اعادة النظر في هيكلية الوزارة والمؤسسات الاستثمارية للمياه التابعة لها بحيث تأتي هذه الهيكليات ملائمة لتحقيق الاهداف وللدور المرسوم.
- التصور الجديد لمهام المؤسسات الاستثمارية للمياه:
ولعل أبرز معالم التصور الجديد لعمل ونشاط المؤسسات المنشأة حديثا هي:
- تحويلها الى مؤسسات استثمارية للمياه وذلك بتعزيز استقلالية هذه المؤسسات وجعلها قادرة على ادارة شؤونها وفقا للمنهجية المعتمدة في ا قطاع الخاص كونها مؤسسات استثمارية ذات طابع تجاري.
- تولى تخطيط البرامج والمشاريع المحلية وتصميمها وتنفيذها وذلك وفقا للخطط والاستراتيجيات التي وضعتها الوزارة.
- بناء المنشآت وتشغيلها.
اقتراح التعرفات ووضعها قيد التنفيذ بعد اقترانها بموافقة لجنة تقييم ادارة مؤسسات المياه المشكلة من ممثلين من كل وزارة الوصاية ووزارة المالية وا قطاع الخاص.
ولأن القناعة بأن فكرة دمج مصالح ومشاريع ولجان مياه الري (وقد زاد عددها على المايتي لجنة) في خمس مصالح زادت رسوخا فقد لحظ دمجها في خمس مصالح تميزت ب:
توسع نشاطها حيث اضيفت الى اهتماماتها بمياه الشفة شؤون مياه الري.
- تعزيز صلاحياتها فأوكلت اليها أمور الدرس والتنفيذ والادارة واعمال التشغيل والصيانة اللازمة لها، وجرى التركيز على الجدوى الاقتصادية في المشاريع التي تقوم بها هذه المصالح وهو أمر يغيب عما هو معتمد حاليا. وقد دمجت فيها المصالح واللجان الواقعة ضمن نطاق استثمار كل مصلحة كما تفترض وجود هيكلية معززة بالكفاءات: اداريا وماليا وفنيا.
وهكذا يتبين بأن الدمج سيعزز المرافق العامة التي تتولاها هذه المؤسسات الاستثمارية ويغنيها عن الاعتماد على الادارة المركزية وسيجعلها، اضافة الى اختصار عدد الهيئات التقريرية والتنفيذية، تتمتع بميزات المؤسسات الكبرى المفترض أن تكون اكثر قدرة وكفاءة في اداء مهامها ويوفر عليها هدرا في نفقاتها وباختصار اتاحة الفرصة لهذه المؤسسات الاستثمارية أن تضع موضع التطبيق استقلالها الاداري والمالي وان تثبت شخصيتها المعنوية المستقلة القادرة والكفوءة وذلك يتعزز بدون شك بالسعي الى وضع أنظمتها الخاصة التي ستحل مكان مرسوم 4517 بحيث يصار الى اعطاء المؤسسات المذكورة حرية واستقلالية تمكنان من ادارتها بالمرونة اللازمة وتخفيف الرقابات المسبقة لأبعد الحدود بينما تقوى الرقابة المؤخرة معتمدة على مؤشرات اداء، وهذا ما تعكف الوزارة على اعداده بانصرافها الى تحضير مشاريع النصوص اللازمة في هذا المجال.
لذلك وتأسيسا على ما سبق تبيانه،
أعد مشروع القانون المحال على مجلسكم الكريم آملين اقراره.


جميع الحقوق محفوظة ©      من نحن  |  اتصل بنا
تحقق من فواتيرك ودفع عبر الإنترنت


عضو جديد؟ اضغط هنا  تسجيل